Beans & Rice for the Soul

teaching, learning and living around the world

Siku mingi! Ulipotea?! — So many days… were you lost?

This journey of many days has taken the term “mixed feelings” to a whole new level.
I’ve come a long way, in all senses, since my last post several months ago.

Image

Deciding to leave Congo was the most difficult decision I’ve ever made.

I had SO many strong opinions
about staying,
about leaving,
about my project,
about my teaching career.
I’ve honestly never felt so torn about anything in my entire life.

And somehow I’ve made it
from there to here…

Image

Teaching reading in New York City.
And I’ve finally reached this magical school where,
I feel like I’m able to give my absolute best, every single day.
Where everything around me, is there to support my teaching.
Everything just makes sense.
I already have everything I could ever need at my fingertips, to make my kids successful.
To teach them how to be better readers.
I’m at a dream school!

Now, in Goma, if people haven’t seen you in a few days, at your next encounter they’ll say- Siku MINGI!!!! It’s been a while! Followed up with Ulipotea? Were you lost?

Last summer when I moved back, I didn’t know what to make of my year in Goma.
Of my four years in Congo.
Of living and teaching in America again.
Where will I go from here?

Yes, siku mingi and yes, I felt lost.
I’ve come a long way since my last post and finally, 270 days later, I’m back.
Back to writing. Cooking up a plan…

5 comments on “Siku mingi! Ulipotea?! — So many days… were you lost?

  1. novaviola
    March 8, 2012

    You have touched many lives, Sara. As an “old” teacher, I can promise you that many of those young people will find you later in life to tell you that you changed their lives for the better. You are an inspiration! The students in Congo and the US are all lucky to have benefited from your guidance and enthusiasm for learning!

  2. Sally aka Mom
    March 9, 2012

    Glad you’re back!! And glad to see the blog update. I enjoyed your writings in the past. There must be some Beans and Rice stories from Brooklyn to share! It has been fun to have you closer to home where we can have more frequent glimpses into the life and thoughts of Sara! Keep on bloggin’ girl!

  3. John
    March 9, 2012

    Good!

  4. Marcia
    March 9, 2012

    Well said, Sara Rich.

  5. silmi
    March 15, 2012

    hey! totally agree with wat u said!! Ur truly an inspirational person! two years in tasok with u were amazin!! miss those days! :’)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 8, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
