Beans & Rice for the Soul

teaching, learning and living around the world

Allies, allies everywhere.

Yesterday I was sitting with Mama Mado, telling her I needed to take a moto (motorbike-taxi) to get to Lycee Amani. She said, “What will that cost you, 1,000 francs?” I said, “No WAY! My friend told me that the standard price is 300, but since I’m a Muzungu I wouldn’t be able to negotiate for less than 500.” She and the other mamas were having a good laugh about that, when a moto driver pulled up.  Mado promptly told the driver, “This is my friend Sara and she needs to go to Lycee Amani and it will cost her 300 francs!!” He agreed, and before I could BLINK, Mado had paid for my moto ride!  I couldn’t believe it! Not only did I get a moto ride for a non-Muzungu price, but my friend Mama Mado PAID for it!!!

Allies, allies everywhere.
Important.

5 comments on “Allies, allies everywhere.

  1. sallyreams
    February 17, 2011

    Sara, awesome – she probably has been wanting to do something for you but didn’t know WHAT to do! A great gift for you! But this begs the question, where was your car?

  2. Lonnie Rich
    February 17, 2011

    Sara, I think it is called pay forward. That is what Mado did. That is what you are doing with your work. Every day, I get to tell someone about our trip and your work. Today, it was Joyce Woodson. You go, girl.

  3. Ruth B
    February 17, 2011

    How wonderful! Acts like that renew your faith, don’t they?

  4. Courtney
    February 17, 2011

    That is just wonderful! I had someone pay for my order at Starbucks the other day and I’ve been eager to do the same for someone else. Mado is a wonderful friend to have and I’m sure that you’ve do more for her than you may realize.

  5. shawnie shawn shawn
    February 17, 2011

    i, too, love this. and there’s something about hearing “you go, girl” from lonnie that just makes my heart melt!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2011 by in humanities, travel.
