Beans & Rice for the Soul

teaching, learning and living around the world

My New Blue Apartment and Kitendawilis!

I moved today to a small blue apartment building right across the street from the Heal Africa Hospital. I’ll be sharing a two bedroom apartment with a nurse, Mary, who is volunteering at Heal Africa. You can read about her experiences here.  Our neighbors across the hall are Chris and Lisa. Chris is a doctor and Lisa works in public health. You can read about their experiences here and here.

We are excited to be closer to the hospital, so that we can come and go as we please and with ease. Not only this, but we are now right next to a grocery store and a Lebanese restaurant so I can continue to get my weekly fill of Fatoush and Hommos Viande.

I practice my Swahili mostly with 8-12 year olds for about 4 hours each morning at the Tungane School. I am now proficient in greetings and the sentences I say the most are “I’m going to school.” or “Do you want to play?” or “Do you want to teach me a song?” My favorite part about hanging out with them though is telling riddles!  If you have a riddle you say, “Kitendawili!” Then everyone around you says “Tega!” My tutor James gives me a few new ones each day so the next morning I can impress the kids with my kitendawilis. Here are some samples:

Q. What goes around so then it meets?  A. BELT!

Q. What is a white person that goes through a window?  A. SNOT!

Q. What are two mountains with a river in between? A. BUTT!

Hilarious. I love it. And sometimes they test me and they’ll say the same riddle back to me but they say it so fast that I don’t understand and say “Je ne sais pas!” and they laugh and laugh. I’d love to make a children’s book full of kitendawilis in kiswahili.

Word on the street is the only book written in Congolese Swahili is the bible!

3 comments on “My New Blue Apartment and Kitendawilis!

  1. mcall0912
    August 25, 2010

    Sara Rich! Swahili is going to open up a whole new depth to your experience. I am so impressed with your progress. We are working on our trip details and will let you know as soon as we have something to share. Please keep up the great work.

  2. Lonnie Rich (dad)
    August 25, 2010

    Jambo. Habari? Sounds like you are having a ball. Kwaheri.

  3. Zeenia Ajani
    March 26, 2011

    Ms.Rich!!!!!! Its been sooooo long!! How are things in Goma?? Hope to see u soon

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2010 by in life, travel.
