Beans & Rice for the Soul

teaching, learning and living around the world

Always a Pleasure, America!

I am so eager to hop on the plane tomorrow I can hardly stand it!  I just want to GET there!!

But I will miss: Blue Moon Beer, Thai Peppers, late nights catching up with family, laughing until my stomach hurts with old friends, Atlantis, St. Elmo’s, The Lighthorse… okay all of Alexandria, making movies, going book shopping, running club, having coffees with various mentors, Cambridge, Phoenix Landing, long rants about teaching, long rants about the development world, long rants about the wedding industry, long rants about how I hate running but run anyway…

When I’m in Goma I’ll need to do a lot less ranting and a lot more listening.  I’m looking forward to: new classrooms, new faces, plantains and pili-pili, Tembo beer, making new friends, going through the various awkward phases of language learning, enjoying the drive from Kigali to the border, the volcano top shining neon orange at night, Goma, being okay with people laughing at my terrible French, Lebanese food, Lake Kivu, bargaining, waiting, Kinshasa, visiting old friends, being on A.T., and beans and rice of course.

Adios America, always a pleasure.

6 comments on “Always a Pleasure, America!

  1. Liliana Gaspar
    August 12, 2010

    I specially like the part of visiting old friends in Kinshasa, and the Libanese food.. hehehehe.
    Good luck

  2. Mom
    August 12, 2010

    I’m going to miss you but look forward to hearing about Goma and how things are going there. Keep us posted.

  3. Stephie
    August 12, 2010

    shouldn’t you be saying au revoir, america? c’mon sara! 😉

    enjoy this new adventure, and we look forward to hearing your updates. a tout a l’heure! (and i’ve now exhausted my french.. good luck with that!)

    ❤ Stephie Jo

  4. sararich
    August 12, 2010

    hahaha Au Revoir!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Lonnie Rich (dad)
    August 12, 2010

    You are in for a hard year ahead, but at least you have started out inspired. Most of us are in for hard years (maybe hard in different ways), and most of us are not inspired at all. May your inspiration be infectious!

  6. Beefy
    August 15, 2010

    POODOO I ALREADY MISS YOU! However, I am excited to hear your updates. I don’t know a lick of French so I won’t even attempt anything a la Stephie Jo but it was great seeing you and I’m counting down the days till we reunite!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2010 by in travel.
