Beans & Rice for the Soul

teaching, learning and living around the world

Beautiful Congo: A Series on the Sights!

I’m so excited to have this new space to blog, but I don’t have too many new things to share about Congo because I’m in the United States for the summer. So… I’ll write a few posts about my previous travels in and around DRC.  I’ve been so lucky in that regard- I’ve been able to see Kinshasa, Kisangani, Epulu, Goma and Bukavu… including wonderful sights like Zongo Falls, the Okapi Reserve and Kahuzi-Biega National Park. Even outside of DRC… I’ve been able to see Kenya, Tanzania, South Africa, Denmark, Ireland, Thailand, Jordan, Zambia, Uganda and Rwanda. (I often look up at the sky and think, “Seriously God? Why do I keep getting these outrageously cool opportunities?! I mean, I’m totally grateful but… why me?”)

Anyhow, over the next few weeks I’ll write a post about some of the awesome places I’ve visited.  And if you ever get to visit DRC… make sure you take the time to see the sights! The pictures never ever do them justice.

The best way to see Congo, or the world for that matter, is no secret. I used to read about other people’s travels and it always seemed so mystifying… how do they do it?! Well- I’ll tell you how I did it. I got a job farrrr away from home, stayed a lonnng time (three years)… made lotttts of friends… and simply tagged along with them.  I never would’ve been able to coordinate any of these trips on my own. I take absolutely zero credit. I wouldn’t even know where to start! Pretty much any cool trip I’ve ever taken in my life has been coordinated by someone else who was kind enough to invite me to join.  So… thank you kind friends- you know who you are. = )

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2010 by in travel.
